Is CBD Halal?

doctor image
on January 26, 2023
CBD Halal

In the Qur'an, the term ‘halal’ translates to ‘permissible’ or ‘lawful’ in English. 

‘Haram’ describes its opposite, translating to: ‘unlawful’ or ‘impermissible’. Muslims who follow Islamic laws must not consume anything deemed Haram or sinful. 

Using CBD oil in foods, drinks and healthcare products has exploded in popularity over the last decade. The Quran states that anything that alters the mind or is an intoxicant is Haram. 

As CBD comes from the marijuana plant, understandably, some may wonder: is CBD halal or haram?

Orange County is here to clear things up. We’ll tell you if CBD is halal and what specific types of CBD products are not halal. Plus, we’ll discuss how you can identify halal CBD products. 

Is CBD Halal or Haram?

CBD (cannabinoids) is a non-intoxicating compound extracted from the hemp plant. Unlike THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), it does not produce any psychoactive effects on users. 

Under Islamic law, any substances that ‘curtain the mind’ are deemed Haram, meaning THC fits under the definition of a Haram intoxicant. As CBD is closely related to this compound, is it halal or haram?

Many UK-sold CBD products must contain no more than 0.2% THC. Such small trace amounts of THC cannot produce any psychoactive effects and cannot be detected in the body. For this reason, CBD oils with undetectable levels of THC are halal.

Consuming CBD products will not make you feel ‘high’ or change your state of mind. Many CBD users say it makes them feel more relaxed and reduces anxiety: this may be because CBD is thought to react positively with serotonin receptors. 

One study found that CBD binds with a specific serotonin receptor called 5-HT1A. Low levels of this receptor negatively affect sleep, anxiety and perception. CBD is halal because it does not affect the user in an intoxicating, mind-altering way. 

What CBD products are haram?

While CBD itself is halal, not all CBD products are. The diverse nature of CBD means it can be incorporated into many different foods, drinks and even vapes. Below, we’ve outlined some CBD products that are Haram, regardless of their CBD content: 

  • Alcohol: If a product is labelled a CBD ‘tincture’, the hemp plant has been dissolved by an alcoholic solvent. 

Alcohol is a Haram intoxicant, and although the amount of alcohol in the product may be undetectable, CBD oils made with other extraction processes can be easily found and purchased. 

  • E-Liquids: Vape juices often contain nicotine or toxic substances that may cause damage to the user's health. Typically, this would be considered haram. However, there has been controversy surrounding whether vaping is Halal or Haram. 

While some believe that vaping E-Liquids with 100% natural ingredients would be a Halal act, others believe that imitating the actions of sinners is Haram, even if the E-Liquid is not harmful to the user. 

  • Gelatine: Gelatine is primarily made from pig skin, and pork is a Haram meat. Products such as CBD gummies or some CBD capsules would not be considered Halal even if they were made with 100% THC-free CBD. 

However, CBD products made with bovine gelatine where the cow was slaughtered according to Halal standards may be considered acceptable. 

How can I identify halal CBD products?

Always shop with a reputable seller, such as Orange County. Look for proof of third-party certification laboratory testing so you can analyse each product's ingredients. We offer lab reports for each of our CBD products to offer customers clarity and insight. 

Shop for CBD products with non-detectable levels of THC and vegan, cruelty-free edibles. Here at Orange County, we offer just that. All our CBD gummies are vegan, and our Broad-Spectrum oils have 0.01% THC.


Leave a comment

← Previous Post Next Post